Parquet Courts is back — as Parkay Quarts

The highly prolific Parquet Courts is back, again, this time as Parkay Quarts, a name they’ve alluded to in their EP “Tally All the Things That You Broke.”

Their new album, “Content Nausea,” is the indie-punk band’s second of the year after “Sunbathing Animal” and is due Dec. 2 on What’s Your Rupture?
Parkay Quarts on Oct. 16 released a new song “Uncast Shadow of a Southern Myth”— a slower, ballad-ish tune.
Two members of the band have gone off for a bit to live the traditional life (a degree in math, starting a family), so vocalists/guitarists Andrew Savage and Austin Brown are pulling the weight and getting help from Jackie-O Motherf*cker Jef Brown on sax and Eaters’ Bob Jones on fiddle. Hence the name Parkay Quarts, reflecting the fractured state of the band right now.
“Content Nausea” is rather short, clocking in at about 35 minutes, but according to band members, they were looking to help out listeners, to give them something to “live with over the winter.” According to a press release it was mastered in just two weeks on a four-track tape machine.

1. Everyday It Starts

2. Content Nausea

3. Urban Ease

4. Slide Machine

5. Kevlar Walls

6. Pretty Machines

7. Psycho Structures

8. The Map

9. These Boots

10. Insufferable

11. No Concept

12. Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Indie, New Music, Punk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s