After 12 years, Blur announces “The Magic Whip”

Blur's cover art for "The Magic Whip"

Blur’s cover art for “The Magic Whip,” out April 27

“Parklife,” the third album by Britpop legends Blur, was released more than 20 years ago, but is still memorable as a turning point in the Britpop movement.

Today Blur announced its eighth album, “The Magic Whip,” which will be out April 27. The group also released their Chinese New Year-inspired video for the first single, “Go Out.”

Blur announcement 2-19-15

In a story on Pitchfork, the band (Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James and Dave Rowntree) live-streamed a press conference highlighting details of the album.

"The Magic Whip" tracklist

“The Magic Whip” tracklist

Leave a comment

Filed under alternative pop, Britpop, Indie Rock

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s