David Loca and Part Time are back with full album

Fall down the wormhole with Part Time

Fall down the wormhole with Part Time

Part Time’s upcoming double LP, Virgo’s Maze, due May 19 on Burger Records, contains everything but the kitchen sink, as it embodies David Loca’s home recordings and various inky sounds over the last five years.

Loca is the prime performer in Part Time, although five songs were aided by a few of his friends on drum and bass.

Much of the sound of Part Time’s newest single, “Fallin’ 4 U,” is lo-fi noise and snippets of voices and sound bites, although the first half of the song could count as enough conventional Britpop for some.

Most of Virgo’s Maze was recorded on reel to reel, tape machine or USB mixer, and according to a press release, it’s the first album in which Loca has complete control.

Listen to “Fallin’ 4 U” on Soundcloud. And check out the ending; it seems to fondly reminisce over Saturday-morning cartoon bits, a la “Looney Toons.”

1. The Cost of Living
2. My Jamey
3. Honey Lips
4. Fallin’ 4 U
5. New Beginnings
6. Touch Me Responsibly
7. I Saw Her Standing There
8. It’s Elizabeth
9. Science, Shadows & Religeons on the Walls
10. Ganz Wien
11. Strangest Eyes
12. Pussy of my Dreams
13. Real Connection
14. The Garvo623 (My Robots Brain)
15. B U
16. Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff
17. Virgo’s Maze
18. Was It Real
19. The River of Dreams (Sailing My Fantasy)
20. It’s Too Late

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Lo-Fi, Synth pop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s