Royal Headache’s album “High” streaming at NPR Music

Royal Headache‘s new album “High,” is streaming now on NPR Music’s First Listen.

The Sydney band’s operating on a first-name basis with the public – vocalist Shogun, drummer Shortty, guitarist Law and bassist Joe. With the album at only 29 minutes (still longer than their 2011 debut), there’s only so much time to get to know them, but they’ve used that brief period of time wisely.

Their song “Another World” is a barn burner of a punk/mod revival song, and the title track is a plaintive and honest love ballad. The band also ekes in elements of soul that find a home within their punk/DIY sentimentality.

Creating these “slow” love odes that are penned to take off at a dizzying pace just accelerates the emotional roller-coaster you might find yourself on when you hear the album. The members of Royal Headache certainly sound like they’re having a good time on “High,” and we’re all welcome to listen in.

http://www.npr.org/player/embed/429329500/429437936

Royal Headache’s “High” is out Aug. 21 on What’s Your Rupture? and on their Distant and Vague label in Australia. The band will be touring with Total Control and Sheer Mag.

ROYAL HEADACHE TOUR DATES:

Mon. Aug. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey

Tue. Aug. 11 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Thu. Aug. 13 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop *

Fri. Aug. 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Origami Vinyl

Sat. Aug. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Berserktown Festival

Mon. Aug. 17 – Austin, TX @ Red 7

Wed. Aug. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle #

Thu. Aug. 20 – Detroit, MI @ UFO #

Fri. Aug. 21 – Toronto, ON @ Silver Dollar

Sat. Aug. 22 – Montreal, QC @ La Vitrola

Mon. Aug. 24 – Boston, MA @ The Great Scott #

Tue. Aug. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade #

Thu. Aug. 27 – Baltimore, MD @ Windup Space #

Fri. Aug. 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA #

Sat. Aug. 29 – Brooklyn, NY @ Palisades #

 

* w/ Total Control

# w/ Sheer Mag

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Mod-Revival, Punk, Punk-rock, Streaming

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s